Skip to main content

Justice Courts

Logan Justice Courts The Logan City Municipal Justice Court was created in 1992 as part of a statewide effort to reorganize the judicial system. The Justice Court was given jurisdiction over Class B and C Misdemeanors and Infractions, as well as Small Claims actions occurring within Logan City limits.


The Logan Justice Court is located at 446 North 100 West, Logan, Utah 84321 in the newly remodeled Workforce Service Building.


You may now pay your citation online with a Visa or Mastercard. There is currently no fee for this service. It may take up to five days for your citation to become available to pay. Make checks or money orders payable to Logan Municipal Justice Court. DO NOT MAIL CASH.  If you pay by mail, please either write the citation or case number on your check, or enclose a copy of the ticket or late notice with your payment to insure proper credit. 


Per the Americans with Disabilities Act, individuals needing special accommodations during the proceeding should call the Court at least three (3) working days prior to the proceeding.


Free child care is available with The Family Support Center if needed while attending the proceeding. Please call 752-8880.


Proper attire is required in the Courtroom. No food, drink or gum chewing are allowed in the Courtroom. No cell phones, pagers or other electronic devices are allowed in the Courtroom except for Court personnel, Attorneys or Law Enforcement. The latter must turn off their electronic devices prior entering the Courtroom.


Pay Citations Online

The Municipal Courts have moved to a new location at
446 North 100 West
Logan, Utah 84321

Criminal Court Criminal arraignments begin at 1:30 PM on Tuesday and at 1:30 PM on Thursday for those needing an interpreter. Pre trials are following criminal arraignments at 3:30 PM. When arriving for criminal court, please check in with Court Clerk before entering the Courtroom. You must be on time to have your case seen by the judge.

Expungement

Background Information

Expunging a record means that the court orders the records of the arrest, investigation, detention, and conviction in the criminal case are sealed.


This page will describe the process for obtaining an expungement through the Logan City Justice Court.


How-To: Get an Expungement in Logan Justice Court

1. You must first obtain a certificate of eligibility from the Utah Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI).This may take up to 14 Weeks.


2. Completion of the Petition: You must then fill out the Petition for Expungement and Sealing of Record and submit it to the court.


3. Serving the Petition: The petition must be served on the prosecuting attorney and the Department of Corrections. Unless a stipulation is obtained, expungement may not be granted until 60 days after service of the petition on those parties. This allows time for the prosecuting attorney and the victim to file a written objection to the petition, and for the court to order an evaluation, if necessary. If an objection is filed, the court must set a hearing and notify the prosecuting attorney, petitioner, and victim of the hearing date.


4. Written Evaluation: The court may order the Department of Corrections to prepare a written evaluation regarding the petition, including its recommendations. If you file a written objection to the conclusions and recommendation in the evaluation within 15 days after receipt of the evaluation, the court will set a hearing date and notify the parties listed above.


5. Hearing: The court may hold a hearing. Or, if there are no objections to the Petition, the court may make a decision based on written documentation.


6. Findings of the Court: After approving a petition for expungement, the court shall enter an order to expunge all or a portion of the case records.


Your responsibilities:

You, not the court, are responsible for service of the order on affected agencies.   Agencies to be notified include:

  • The prosecuting agency
  • The arresting agency
  • The booking agency
  • The State agency (BCI)

Additional information and forms can be found at http://www.utcourts.gov/howto/expunge/.

Probation

Professional Probation Services, Inc. (PPSI)                             
55 North Main Suite #101
Logan, Utah 84321
Phone: 787-1830
Fax: 787-2302



View Larger Map

You have been given sentence of probation. If you comply with the conditions of probation, the jail days ordered suspended will be suspended. If you choose not to comply with the probation conditions, probation may be revoked and be ordered to serve the balance of the suspended jail sentence imposed. 


You Must report to PPSI within ten days of the date of judgment or release from jail whichever occurs last.     At that time you will give your Probation Officer the completed Probationer’s Information Sheet ( attached hereto ), sign a probation agreement, be assigned a probation office and have your monthly payment set up.


* * * YOUR PAYMENTS MUST BE IN CASH (exact change) OR CERTIFIED FUNDS * * *


       PPSI does not accept personal checks, credit cards or personal money orders


   READ THESE INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY BEFORE REPORTING 

  1. You must report to your Probation Officer as directed.   Missed appointments can and will result in the issuance of Order to Show Cause and/or Warrant for your arrest.
  2. You will be scheduled to report once a month unless your minimum payment is not met at which time you will report with or without payment on a weekly basis.
  3. Mailing payments does not excuse you from reporting to your Probation Officer as directed. Make any certified funds payable to Professional Probation Services and mail them to the address listed above.
  4. If drug and/or alcohol screening is a condition of your Probation, each screen will cost $15.00.
  5. The conditions of your Probation are not negotiable and will be strictly enforced.

Probation Form

If you need information about Class A misdemeanors and felonies, divorces, child custody matters, adoptions, restraining orders, protective orders, civil matters over $10,000.00 or any case occurring before January 1, 1992 you should contact:


First District Court (http://www.utcourts.gov/courts/dist/)
135 North 100 West
Logan, Utah 84321
Phone: 750-1300


If you need information about non-traffic cases involving juveniles or traffic cases involving juveniles under the age of 16 years of age, you should contact:


Juvenile Court (http://www.utcourts.gov/courts/juv/)
135 North 100 West
Logan, Utah 84321
Phone: 750-1300


If you need information about marriage licenses, you should contact:


Cache County Clerk (http://www.cachecounty.org/clerk/)
170 North Main
Logan, Utah 84321
Phone: 755-1462


If you need information about motor vehicle registration, you should contact:


Cache County Assessor (http://www.cachecounty.org/assessor/)
170 North Main
Logan, Utah 84321
Phone: 755-1590


If you need information about your driver's license, you should contact:


Utah Driver's License Division (http://driverlicense.utah.gov/)
110 E 700 S
Logan, Utah 84321
Phone: 752-0332

Other Justice Courts in Cache Valley

Clarkston Justice Court
50 S Main
PO Box 271
Clarkston, Utah 84305
Phone: 563-9090
North Logan Justice Court
113 East Center
PO Box 489
Hyde Park UT 84318
Phone: 563-6507

Hyde Park Justice Court
113 East Center
PO Box 489
Hyde Park, Utah 84318
Phone: 563-6507

Paradise Justice Court
PO Box 286
Paradise, Utah 84328
Phone: 245-4760

Hyrum Justice Court
83 West Main
Hyrum, Utah 84319
Phone: 245-0114

Providence Justice Court
15 South Main
Providence, Utah 84332
Phone: 752-9441

Lewiston Justice Court
241 Sourth 1600 West
Lewiston, Utah 84320
Phone: 258-2816

Richmond Justice Court
339 West Main
PO Box 403
Richmond, Utah 84333
Phone: 258-2092

Newton Justice Court
51 S Center St
PO Box 146
Newton, Utah 84327
Phone: 563-3975

Smithfield Justice Court
69 North Main
PO Box 96
Smithfield, Utah 84335
Phone: 563-6226
   
Nibley Justice Court
625 West 3200 South
Nibley, Utah 84321
Phone: 752-0431
Wellsville Justice Court
PO Box 6
Wellsville, Utah 84339
Phone: 245-3686

Small Claims The Small Claims Court is designed to settle monetary legal issues and problems arising from contractual, service disputes and other claims. Small Claims Court cannot be used to evict a tenant, to recover possession of property or to enforce an injunction. The maximum amount you may sue for in a small claims action is $10,000. Small Claims court is less formal and you do not need an attorney to represent you. The Cache County Bar provides free legal assistance on the second Thursday of each month from 5:30 to 7:30 PM.


Small Claims Hearings begin promptly at 9:00 AM on Mondays. When arriving for court, please check in with the Court Clerk before entering the Courtroom. Proper attire is required in the Courtroom. No cell phones, food, drink or gum chewing are allowed in the Courtroom. Mediators are available at no charge to the parties on Mondays at 9:00 AM.


Per the Americans with Disabilities Act, individuals needing special accom- modations during the proceeding should call the Court at least three (3) working days prior to the proceeding. Free child care is available with The Family Support Center if needed while attending the proceeding. Please call 752-8880.


Small Claims forms are available at the Logan Justice Court Clerk Office. Printed Small Claims Information & Instruction Manual available for free at www.utcourts.gov/howto/smallclaims/
(These forms should be used for reference only. Contact your local court for a copy of the forms used in that court.)


The Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (SCRA) allows those on active military duty to postpone or suspend certain civil judicial proceedings. 50 U.S.C. App. 501 - 596. The SCRA also provides protection in the areas of financial management such as rental agreements, security deposits, eviction, installment contracts, credit card interest rates, mortgages, and income tax payments. The Hill Air Force Base website provides additional information about the SCRA.



For Military Affidavit instructions and Forms

Military Service Affidavit - PDF | Word

Military Service Order - PDF | Word


Some case types require verification that you have checked to see whether the opposing party in your case is on active military duty. Use the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act website to determine if someone is on active military duty.


Civil Filing Fees

Traffic Court

Traffic arraignments begin at 3:30 PM on Wednesday and at 1:30 PM on Thursday for those needing an interpreter. When arriving for traffic court, please check in with Court Clerk before entering the Courtroom. You may check in with the clerk up to one hour before court and as late as 5:15 pm. Schedule may be adjusted without prior notice.


If you are interested in seeing if you qualify for traffic school, please ask the Court Clerk about “Driver’s Awareness”.


During traffic arraignments, the Logan City Prosecutor is available in his office outside the Courtroom if you wish to talk with him.

Fix It Tickets

If you receive a fix it ticket, proof of fix it must be shown to the Court Clerk within 20 days of the date of the citation. To verify that your ticket is a fix it ticket, please check the Utah State Justice Court Bail Schedule.

Insurance Citations

The Court Clerk can dismiss a no proof of insurance and no insurance citation with proof of insurance coverage.


            A written statement from an insurance agent or company verifying that the person had the required motor vehicle insurance coverage on the time and date of citation will allow the Court Clerk to dismiss a no proof of insurance charge. This statement should include:

·        YEAR AND MAKE OF VEHICLE

·        POLICY COVERAGE THAT COVERS DATE OF CITATION

·        SIGNED AND DATED BY AGENT


              See Utah Code Annotated Section 41-12a-303.2(2)(b) listing other alternatives to show proof of owner’s or operator’s security for dismissal of a no proof of insurance charge by the Court Clerk.


REMEMBER: The Defendant is responsible to verify with the Court Clerk that the proof of insurance has been received by the Court within 14 days of the issuance of the citation, the insurance proof is sufficient and that no proof of insurance charge has been dismissed. Failure to do so could result in the no proof of insurance charge remaining outstanding and a warrant being issued for the arrest of the Defendant. 

Traffic School

I.  WHAT IS THE DRIVER'S AWARENESS ABEYANCE PROGRAM?

Optional class taught by City of Logan Police Officers to make the public aware of the importance of obeying traffic laws and regulations, as well as discussion of specific traffic problems within Logan City. Fulfilling established abeyance agreement requirements will result in dismissal of eligible traffic violations.  In conformance with Utah Law, a plea in abeyance is reported to the Utah Driver’s License Division. According to their policy, a plea in abeyance disposition is not reported to insurance Companies unless the violator holds a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL).


II.  WHO IS ELIGIBLE TO PARTICIPATE IN THE DRIVER'S AWARENESS ABEYANCE PROGRAM?

1. Anyone who has not had more than one moving violation in the past two (2) years including any diverted from prosecution, held in abeyance or dismissed under an diversion or abeyance agreement; AND

2. Anyone who is appearing in the Logan City Municipal Justice Court for Improper Lookout, Negligent Collision, or a Class C Misdemeanor or Infraction*, moving traffic violation OCCURRING ON OR AFTER JULY 1, 2006, EXCEPT for the following listed offenses:

a) Speeding 20 mph or greater in excess of posted speed limit

b) Speeding in a School Zone

c) Speed exhibition or racing

d) Failure to stop for a School

e) Any violation excluded for eligibility by Logan City Prosecutor

                                                ALSO,

If ANY of the following conditions apply, the violation will not be eligible:

a) a late fee has been incurred

b) a Bench Warrant and/or Order to Show Cause has been issued

                                                   AND

3. Anyone who has not previously had a moving violation dismissed by attending the City of Logan Driver's Awareness Abeyance in the past two years; AND

4. Anyone who completes the Driver’s Awareness Class prior to the matter being set for trial.


* MAXIMUM PENALTIES FOR Class B Misdemeanor -- $1,000.00 and 6 months;   Class C Misdemeanor -- $ 750.00 and 90 days:   Infraction -- $ 750.00   TOGETHER with a surcharge of  85% on non Title 4l Class B Misdemeanors and  35% on all other moving violations plus a $32 SECURITY SURCHARGE.


III. WHAT IS REQUIRED TO PARTICIPATE IN THE DRIVER'S AWARENESS ABEYANCE PROGRAM?

1. Meet all eligibility requirements as described in Section II.

2. Present a copy of your driver's license history showing no moving violations within the previous two (2) years from the date of current citation as described in Section II.    Provided UCJIS computer system up and running, Court Clerks can obtain a Utah Driver’s history for your file but cannot provide you with a copy of same.

4. Pay an abeyance fee that is equal to the fine and surcharge of the offense charged per the Bail Schedule with no credit given for seatbelt compliance together with a security fee of $40.00 and a $25.00 non-refundable Driver's Awareness registration fee at the Logan City Municipal Justice Court Clerk’s window. ( Fees must be paid before signing the Abeyance Agreement and attending class. )

5. Sign the Driver’s Awareness Abeyance Agreement at the Logan City Municipal Justice Court Clerk’s window.

6. Attend the next Driver's Awareness class after initial appearance date & pass quiz with a 70% score or higher. This class is usually held on the first Saturday of each month at 9:00 am and on the second and fourth Tuesday at 7:00 pm at the Logan City Rec Center classroom, 195 South l00 West, Logan, Utah. See the clerk for exact dates. You must provide a valid picture ID at time of class. If the assigned class is missed, you will not be eligible to attend another class, your registration fee will be forfeited, the abeyance fee will be treated as bail posted and will be voluntarily forfeited on the Wednesday at 3:30 PM following the assigned class, resulting in the charge being entered as a conviction.


REMEMBER:   DRIVER’S AWARENESS IS NOT AN OPTION ONCE THE CITATION HAS BEEN PAID, BAIL FORFEITED, LATE NOTICE ISSUED, WARRANT ISSUED, DEFENDANT FOUND GUILTY AND/OR SENTENCED.